Lilting

I watched lilting while I was doing the ironing for my trip away. I chose it because it looked interesting, and because Ben Wishaw looks beautiful in it. I think I’m glad I did.

On the surface it looks… well, what is it? Quiet enough to watch between strokes of the iron without missing much? Although, with some of the dialogue in captioned Cantonese, I had to watch, but that was ok. It’s beautifully filmed, but oh.

The film is about a lot more than it seems to be on the surface. Or maybe that was just me. It’s when Richard brings in a translator to bridge the gap – those gaps – in what was said, and – ‘no, don’t say that. Don’t translate that…’ what was not said, that the pain started.

It’s about hiding, and about guilt, and about what we don’t say, and don’t do, and what we do say instead, and the repercussions of that. The repercussions of trying to fill a gap with something not suitable. The repercussions of silence.

Wouldn’t it be better to say it, because we only think we know what the outcome will be. Wouldn’t it be better not to put reasons and explanations and meanings on what people say. To understand that what they don’t say matters too. To get that sometimes they just need a translator. Not from Chinese to English, but from themselves to fucking English first, and then onwards.

Sometimes I think we are all speaking Chinese, and instead of listening to the translators, filling in the gaps ourselves. And then, if we stop speaking, sometimes people hear better. If my plane crashes tomorrow, there will be no more blog, and no more stumbling speeches. Only what I wrote from my heart, without fear.

The part of the film where the healing begun was at the end, when the translator stopped, and they just spoke. Said what they wanted to say, in their own language, because they weren’t afraid of being understood. And then, despite not knowing a word that was said, understood each other completely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Lilting

  1. novocoboro says:

    It helped they could talk face to face.

  2. Coco says:

    That was beautiful hun. I must look for it on Netflicks.You don’t need a translator, you know how to say it perfectly

  3. Rob says:

    Are you alright?

  4. novocoboro says:

    He isn’t Rob, and I wish you’d go over and talk to him. Don’t take no for an answer. He won’t talk to me or Kath.

  5. Rob says:

    Ah. I don’t know why I shoot myself in the foot by doing this, but I’ll storm the barricades

  6. L says:

    There’s an angry lawyer heading my way.

  7. marco says:

    If it’s Mr. W, send him on after he’s bawled you out. I’ll calm him down.

  8. marco says:

    Because I got nowhere with either, for either purpose! But I remained cool.

  9. Brian says:

    I have no idea why I’m sideways Marco, but I’ve never learned to colour within the lines, if that helps. The Ice Cube Club, there’s a good start. I’ve very little intelligence of Mr. W, Mr. S keeps me in the dark on most things, but my instinct says I can trust him.

  10. marco says:

    Oh you can. He’s a rock solid guy. I’d trust him with my bank book. I just think he’s hot too.

  11. marco says:

    Now I want a drink. A couple in fact. And a fireplace to drink it next to.

  12. marco says:

    Cheers mr sideways!

  13. Rob says:

    Marco, you nut.
    I found out one thing again and that is how much you are loved (not you Marco!) and I envy that greatly. I did my best for you, because I really want happy as an outcome.

  14. novocoboro says:

    So, not a lot of change or hope of it going on. Any of you got any suggestions? After 11 years of waiting, I’m still open… Contact info above.

  15. Brian says:

    Is anybody else out there willing to go over there and intervene with Louis? Because Rob, Kath and I have failed. He’s miserable, he’s drinking too much, and he’s flailing around with nowhere to turn because that’s how he’s set it up for himself, and he doesn’t know how to get unstuck. You’re his friends. HELP HIM!!

  16. Coco says:

    Oh. I’ve never met you Brian, but I know. I know how he feels about you, and I’m worried as well. Are you reading this Lou?

Leave a comment